CodeIgniter Forums
Class DotEnv and Autoload - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+--- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 Support (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=30)
+--- Thread: Class DotEnv and Autoload (/showthread.php?tid=73079)

Class DotEnv and Autoload - Networlds - 03-16-2019

Hello everyone,

I started using CodeIgniter lately in version 3. I am self taught and had never used a framework before. By cons I tested 7 different and Codeigniter in his V3 is the one that was closest to my style of coding. The version 4 is a total redesign, I fully understand that we must be in the style of the day but I have a little trouble anyway ... In short.

I want to make a .env file load relative to where the application is located: production, testing, development. I have tried multiple way to load a class in app/config which normally is in the logic that must load the files in the folder automatically. Something that does not happen while I respect the namespace. There, I did as in the documentation with a class implements so to make a personal class ... It does not load. So here is the test code:
Code:
<?php namespace Config;

use CodeIgniter\Config\DotEnv;

class Env implements DotEnv
{
   /**
     * The directory where the .env file can be located.
     * @var string
     */
    protected $path;

//--------------------------------------------------------------------

/**
     * Builds the path to our file.
     * @param string $path
     * @param string $file
     */
    public function __construct(string $path, string $file = '.env_development')
    {
        $this->path = rtrim($path, DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR) . DIRECTORY_SEPARATOR . $file;
    }

etc...
}