CodeIgniter Forums
Issue loading function - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forum-24.html)
+--- Thread: Issue loading function (/thread-74183.html)



Issue loading function - Mekaboo - 08-14-2019

Hey!

I recently asked about loading a controller within another and after a while realized I was jumping the gun a little (Grateful for the help Smile )! I trying to do the basic route but getting a '404' page not found error code through creating an anchor. Here is the code:

class notifications extends CI_Controller {

    public function index(){
        global $data;
        $data['meta_title'] = "Notification";
        if(empty($_SESSION['w3_user_id'])) {
            redirect('', 'refresh');
        }
        else{
            $data['sidebar'] = 'sidebar_left';
            $data['rightbar'] = 'rightbar';
            $data['page_content'] = 'notification';
            $data['navigation'] = 'home';
            $this->load->model('friend_model');
            $this->load->library('database','session','form_validation','email');
            $this->load->helper('url');
            $data['notification'] = $this->friend_model->get_all_notification();
            $this->load->view('template', $data);
        }
        
    }
    
                public function notify()
    {    
        $this->load->view('notification');        
    }

}

What do I add or subtract within this code to make things work? Thank you for the help!!!


Heart Heart ,
Mekaboo


RE: Issue loading function - ciadmin - 08-14-2019

"Make things work"... what about this isn't working for you - you didn't say.

Off the top, your controller name should be UCfirst, i.e. Notifications.

Second, please use the [ code ] php code here [ / code ] tags for code readability. (after removing the spaces in the tags)


RE: Issue loading function - InsiteFX - 08-15-2019

And why are you using a global $data variable array?

you can simple using CI's this->load->vars($data) and it is global to all views.


RE: Issue loading function - Mekaboo - 08-15-2019

(08-14-2019, 09:41 PM)ciadmin Wrote: "Make things work"... what about this isn't working for you - you didn't say.

Off the top, your controller name should be UCfirst, i.e. Notifications.

Second, please use the [ code ] php code here [ / code ] tags for code readability. (after removing the spaces in the tags)

So sorry about that and will make correction within code Heart


RE: Issue loading function - Mekaboo - 08-15-2019

(08-15-2019, 08:10 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: And why are you using a global $data variable array?

you can simple using CI's this->load->vars($data) and it is global to all views.

I was using code that was already created  but notice thing about it wasnt working. Will add this and see if it helps Heart