CodeIgniter Forums
Need help populating database with products - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Thread: Need help populating database with products (/showthread.php?tid=74563)

Pages: 1 2


Need help populating database with products - lulab - 10-08-2019

Hi everyone,

I need to learn how to quickly populate my shopping cart database with products. Is there a tutorial suitable for CI or is any kind soul willing to guide me or point me in the right direction? I've been playing with the db products and category tables for some days now but no joy.

Thanks for any help.


RE: Need help populating database with products - php_rocs - 10-08-2019

@lulab,

Faker helps you build test data. Check it out: https://github.com/fzaninotto/Faker


RE: Need help populating database with products - lulab - 10-09-2019

(10-08-2019, 05:37 PM)php_rocs Wrote: @lulab,

Faker helps you build test data. Check it out: https://github.com/fzaninotto/Faker

Hi,

Thank you so much for your reply. I took a quick look at Faker but I'm still wondering if I can use it to upload data for real non-fake products? Sad I need to feed db with product category, sub-category, name, title, description, corresponding image, quantity in stock etc etc. I wish I could do this with a CSV file, with the correct syntax of course and get Faker or similar script push it to the db?


RE: Need help populating database with products - php_rocs - 10-09-2019

@lulab,

Faker data is not real data and its not really designed to upload not fake data.

What format is the data in? There are definitely multiple ways to get it into the database.


RE: Need help populating database with products - lulab - 10-10-2019

Hi, 
I must be able to find a tutorial to help me export data from the db, csv format, then populate the file and upload back to db. Correct? 


Thanks! And have a nice day.


RE: Need help populating database with products - php_rocs - 10-10-2019

@lulab,

What database are you exporting from? And what database are you importing too?


RE: Need help populating database with products - lulab - 10-10-2019

Hi php_rocs,

Sorry I should have mentioned it's MySQL. Thanks.

[url=https://www.mysql.com/downloads/][/url]


RE: Need help populating database with products - Wouter60 - 10-10-2019

Why do you think you need CI do to this? Chances are that you manage your MySQL database with PhpMyAdmin, which has export and import functions.


RE: Need help populating database with products - lulab - 10-10-2019

@Wouter60

You're right. I once used PhpMyAdmin to export but had errors during import. I'll reproduce the error and post. Thank you!


RE: Need help populating database with products - php_rocs - 10-10-2019

@lulab,

Also, pay attention to the MySQL version that you are migration from and the version that you are migrating to. Also, as mentioned above there are many tools that can help you migrate from one database to another.