![]() |
How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5) +--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24) +--- Thread: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field (/showthread.php?tid=77640) |
How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - keop - 09-29-2020 I'm building a seeder to populate the database, but I'm not able to set NOW() in DATETIME fields. How can I do it? I tried this: PHP Code: public function run() { And also with literal 'NOW()' here: PHP Code: $now = 'NOW()'; None of them works. RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - nc03061981 - 09-29-2020 now() return int, datetime field is string So Code: $now = date('Y-m-d H:i:s', now()); RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - keop - 09-29-2020 Thank you! RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - InsiteFX - 09-29-2020 Here is a helper method I wrote to do just that. PHP Code: // ----------------------------------------------------------------------- RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - joho - 03-06-2024 As has been pointed out in other posts, it should, however, be noted that this is not necessarily the same as the NOW() function in MySQL since that uses the time on the DB-server, and not on the server running PHP. In some environments, this won't matter, but for others it may. Perhaps this answer should be updated for CI4 and point in this direction: Code: new RawSql('NOW()'); RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - InsiteFX - 03-06-2024 Here is the full listing of it. w3resurce - MySQL NOW() function Note: The date and time is returned as "YYYY-MM-DD HH-MM-SS" (string) or as YYYYMMDDHHMMSS.uuuuuu (numeric). RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - InsiteFX - 03-11-2024 You can also use the Time Class. CodeIgniter 4 User Guide - Times and Dates - now() PHP Code: <?php RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - joho - 03-11-2024 (03-11-2024, 11:37 PM)InsiteFX Wrote: You can also use the Time Class. I can, but won't that also use the server time from where PHP is running, rather than where MySQL is running? ? RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - InsiteFX - 03-12-2024 No, you can specify what time to use. PHP Code: $myTime = new Time('now', 'America/Chicago', 'en_US'); RE: How to insert NOW() in DATETIME field - joho - 03-12-2024 (03-12-2024, 02:01 AM)InsiteFX Wrote: No, you can specify what time to use. Fair enough, but it requires that I know what timezone the database server is using. We don't need to nitpick this one ![]() ![]() |