CodeIgniter Forums
CI debugging tools - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Choosing CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: CI debugging tools (/showthread.php?tid=79493)



CI debugging tools - andalua - 06-24-2021

Hi folks, I just dive into this CI world for a personal project which is based on CI 3.X. I'd like to know what're the best practices to start working on, for the purpose of development and debugging? I'm not much a php guy at this moment. I do know programming such as C/C++/Java. Thanks in advance.


RE: CI debugging tools - InsiteFX - 06-24-2021

CodeIgniter 4 is using php unit for debugging the code.


RE: CI debugging tools - andalua - 11-13-2021

(06-24-2021, 08:57 PM)InsiteFX Wrote: CodeIgniter 4 is using php unit for debugging the code.

Many thanks. I'm trying now VSCode and phpstorm. Still new to CI


RE: CI debugging tools - John_Betong - 11-13-2021

@InsiteFX,
> CodeIgniter 4 is using php unit for debugging the code.

@andalu,
> I do know programming such as C/C++/Java. Thanks in ad

PHP Unit falls a long way short of the equivalent C/C++ Debugging and I would advise adding the following at the top of all your PHP files:
Code:
<?php declare(strict_types=1); // ONLY APPLIES TO THIS FILE
//

https://www.phptutorial.net/php-tutorial/php-strict_types/

Using strict_types overrides PHP Default of Type Conversion sometimes called Type Juggling:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Type_conversion