word_wrap() bug??? - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: word_wrap() bug??? (/showthread.php?tid=8039) |
word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 05-02-2008 [eluser]Cristian Gilè[/eluser] I'm trying to use word_wrap() function but the text is not wrapped. I've used the example in the CI guide: Code: $string = "Here is a simple string of text that will help us demonstrate this function."; Can you explain that ?? Is it a potential candidate bug ?? word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 05-02-2008 [eluser]Lone[/eluser] Without testing it myself I am guessing you are trying to produce the text when viewing through a browser. If you goto view the source of the page you will see it most likely is word wrapped - but browsers only render a new line with a <br /> or <br> tag. This function from memory is built more in use for something like an email message body. word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 05-29-2008 [eluser]Sumon[/eluser] So!!! We have no alternative of Code: wordwrap($text, 8, "\n", true); word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 05-30-2008 [eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser] Sumon, you can absolutely use PHP in CodeIgniter. If you want to use PHP's native wordwrap() function, go for it! word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 06-02-2008 [eluser]Sumon[/eluser] Yes that's true and thanks for your kind feedback. but i shall be more happy if i get something like Code: word_limiter() word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 06-02-2008 [eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser] No problem. Here you go. Add this to system/application/helpers/text_helper.php Code: <?php if ( ! defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed'); word_wrap() bug??? - El Forum - 06-03-2008 [eluser]Sumon[/eluser] Excellent idea Great. Really great thinking.... why i not think this way before..... anyway.. thanks a lot |