![]() |
is the port number screwing things up? - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Using CodeIgniter (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5) +--- Forum: General Help (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24) +--- Thread: is the port number screwing things up? (/showthread.php?tid=80523) |
is the port number screwing things up? - richb201 - 11-11-2021 when someone first enters my site with staging.researchstudyonline.com, they immediately go to the wordpress landing page. There is a button on it to enter my php app. It is setup at staging.researchstudyonline.com:8181. So anything with port 8181 goes to my CI3 app. I am experiencing some strange situation. I developed my code under docker on my laptop and it did not use port 8181. It was running fine. So I moved it up to AWS and now I am experiencing some strange stuff. On my dashboard I have an enter button which has this link <a href="campaign_management_with_actions" text-align: right;">Enter </a> <br> When I press the Enter link it goes to PHP Code: http://staging.researchstudyonline.com:8181/campaign_management_with_actions and this page is not found (404 error). BTW, I have set $config['base_url'] = 'http://staging.researchstudyonline.com:8181/'; in config.php But if I remember correctly the URL created should have been: PHP Code: http://staging.researchstudyonline.com:8181/index.php/Configure/campaign_management_with_actions This is the way it was supposed to work, right? Or am I just having a senior moment? Is it possible that the :8181 is screwing things up? Has anyone successfully used a port number as part of the routing? RE: is the port number screwing things up? - InsiteFX - 11-12-2021 The port number would not be the same on a live server, if they used one most do not. RE: is the port number screwing things up? - richb201 - 11-12-2021 "they" are not using a port number, I am using the port number. Actually, the guy I hired to set up my staging server is using ports. My theory is that this route would work PHP Code: http://staging.researchstudyonline.com/index.php/Configure/campaign_management_with_actions PHP Code: http://staging.researchstudyonline.com:8181/campaign_management_with_actions I have this is my routes. Is this incorrect? $route['default_controller'] = 'Configure'; I'd like to be sure that the port is the problem before I go through the trouble of changing it. What module handles the CI3 routing before it gets to my application code? RE: is the port number screwing things up? - includebeer - 11-13-2021 (11-11-2021, 04:29 PM)richb201 Wrote: Has anyone successfully used a port number as part of the routing? Yes, I use port 8888 on my computer and it works. I don't think your problem is the port in your config file. Here is what I have in my .env file: Code: app.baseURL = 'http://ci4.test:8888' RE: is the port number screwing things up? - richb201 - 11-13-2021 Beer, what is the index Page about? Interesting that you keep the url hidden in a .env file! The routing is not working and I have no clue why? Is there any place I could put a breakpoint to debug this? RE: is the port number screwing things up? - includebeer - 11-13-2021 (11-13-2021, 10:09 AM)richb201 Wrote: Beer, what is the index Page about? Interesting that you keep the url hidden in a .env file! It's to remove the index.php from the url. I prefer to set the url and database credentials in the .env file since they are different in all environments (localhost vs. live site). (11-13-2021, 10:09 AM)richb201 Wrote: The routing is not working and I have no clue why? Is there any place I could put a breakpoint to debug this? I don't where exactly. You could always start from the index.php and step into everything to see where it's going. ![]() RE: is the port number screwing things up? - richb201 - 11-14-2021 Hey Beer. In index.php I call a function which displays the dashboard. I can see that. But does index.php run every time? Is there a place that only runs one time? If so I would put the function that displays the the dashboard in there. RE: is the port number screwing things up? - includebeer - 11-15-2021 index.php is the front controller. Everything pass through that. |