CodeIgniter Forums
How To require for working with enum type field - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+--- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 Support (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=30)
+--- Thread: How To require for working with enum type field (/showthread.php?tid=82116)



How To require for working with enum type field - Ahmed Haroon - 06-14-2022

for enum type column to include in my modal form i go to official UserGuide and searched for enum and it returned only one link Database Forge Class where i search with Ctrl-F for word enum and found only one occurance. so, please help to have a working example for How To if I want to include enum type field in my form or grid (datatable) how I can handle with db values to add / update data thru form or show in my list view?  OR is it not recommended ( asking for above search result in official user guide ) OR something else?
regards.


RE: How To require for working with enum type field - kenjis - 06-14-2022

See https://media.pragprog.com/titles/bksap1/31flavors.pdf


RE: How To require for working with enum type field - Ahmed Haroon - 06-14-2022

(06-14-2022, 05:47 AM)kenjis Wrote: See https://media.pragprog.com/titles/bksap1/31flavors.pdf

thanks @kenjis for quick response, but this is not what I am looking for.


RE: How To require for working with enum type field - kenjis - 06-14-2022

1. Enum does not matter. The usage is the same as for string type
2. Enum is anti-pattern, if the value set changes


RE: How To require for working with enum type field - InsiteFX - 06-14-2022

PHP Code:
// CI3 - status is an enum field in the database table!
'status' => $this->input->post('status'true),

// Would be the same for CI4.