CodeIgniter Forums
Very slow performance when in the development environment - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+--- Forum: CodeIgniter 4 Discussion (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=31)
+--- Thread: Very slow performance when in the development environment (/showthread.php?tid=88458)



Very slow performance when in the development environment - MrWhite - 09-11-2023

I'm experiencing very slow page loads when the app in "development" environment. In production, it's totally fine.
Any tips to make development environment fast? this slowness makes me miserable when developing my apps.

I think debugger is too heavy and causing therse issues.

Thanks.


RE: Very slow performance when in the development environment - kenjis - 09-12-2023

Disable Hot Reloading if you navigate to pages.
https://codeigniter4.github.io/userguide/testing/debugging.html#hot-reloading


RE: Very slow performance when in the development environment - ozornick - 09-12-2023

It is better then to disable the "toolbar"


PHP Code:
// app/Config/Filters.php
    public array $globals = [
        'after' => [
            // 'toolbar',
        ],
    ]; 



RE: Very slow performance when in the development environment - MrWhite - 09-12-2023

Thank you very much both of you. it was very helpful.


RE: Very slow performance when in the development environment - InsiteFX - 09-13-2023

If your on Windows remember there was a 0-day bug in the CPU'S that Windows fixed in the code for it.

There is a Registry key to turn it off.. Affects all CPU'S before Gen 14th.

This fix will lower the speed of the CPU to around 50%.


RE: Very slow performance when in the development environment - brunoggdev - 02-02-2024

(09-12-2023, 12:33 AM)kenjis Wrote: Disable Hot Reloading if you navigate to pages.
https://codeigniter4.github.io/userguide/testing/debugging.html#hot-reloading

So we should always remember to turn off Hot Reloading when navigating to other views?
I'm having this exact issue where it just loads forever when you try to access another page when it is active.
Just confirming, is this the expected behavior?

(Sorry if I'm not supposed to post it here, I'm kinda new to the forum stuff)