![]() |
Setting in database - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Setting in database (/showthread.php?tid=9087) |
Setting in database - El Forum - 06-11-2008 [eluser]EEssam[/eluser] Hello, I have the following code in my old app to get settings from DB: // get global settings $result = mysql_query("SELECT varname, value FROM setting"); if (!$result) { die ('Could not successfully get settings from DB: ' . mysql_error()); } $options = array(); while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) { $options[$row['varname']] = $row['value']; } mysql_free_result($result); What would be the ideal method to integrate it with CI? Please advise. Setting in database - El Forum - 06-11-2008 [eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser] Code: $this->db->select('varname, value'); Setting in database - El Forum - 06-11-2008 [eluser]EEssam[/eluser] Thanks but I want to make the settings globally available. Where I should store the code is this case? Setting in database - El Forum - 06-11-2008 [eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser] Code: class Settings { Put that in a library and autoload it. Now all your settings should be available through $this->settings->options['whatever']. Setting in database - El Forum - 06-17-2008 [eluser]EEssam[/eluser] Hi inparo, It worked like a charm. Can you please just tell me why I should place this in a library and not in a helper or a plugin? Setting in database - El Forum - 06-17-2008 [eluser]EEssam[/eluser] Or even in a model and set it to autoload... it makes more since to me (since models are associated with data) Setting in database - El Forum - 06-17-2008 [eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser] No real reason, in the spur of the moment a library is what I had on hand. A model would probably be the better choice when you consider the MVC paradigm. |