![]() |
Passing array to Javascript code - Printable Version +- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com) +-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20) +--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23) +--- Thread: Passing array to Javascript code (/showthread.php?tid=9339) |
Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]taizen[/eluser] (Pardon my rookieness) I've created a view from this Flot (jQuery plugin) example: http://people.iola.dk/olau/flot/examples/real-data.html Then i want to pass an array with data collected from a database to the Javascript code, so that the graph is updated according to the database content. I guess this is really simple but my knowledge of PHP, CI and JS is rather limited, so a little guidance here is greatly appreciated. Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]libnac[/eluser] Does Flot use JSON in order to represent graphics? i am viewing the code you put on your question ... "usa": { label: "USA", data: [[1988, 483994], [1989, 479060], [1990, 457648], [1991, 401949], [1992, 424705], [1993, 402375], [1994, 377867], [1995, 357382], [1996, 337946], [1997, 336185], [1998, 328611], [1999, 329421], [2000, 342172], [2001, 344932], [2002, 387303], [2003, 440813], [2004, 480451], [2005, 504638], [2006, 528692]] }, I think this is json.. then you must to echo your results inside the javascript function that creates this graphics. Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]taizen[/eluser] [quote author="libnac" date="1214164781"]Does Flot use JSON in order to represent graphics? [/quote] I have no idea, i must admit... [quote author="libnac" date="1214164781"] I think this is json.. then you must to echo your results inside the javascript function that creates this graphics.[/quote] That's brilliant! Works fine. I just put Code: <?php echo $results[0]; ?> Maybe by passing the entire dataset as a string and the echo it would be the best? Thanks! Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]libnac[/eluser] Yes, I think so... but what's in $results[0]? in order to generate a good json you must follow some rules Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]Matthieu Fauveau[/eluser] If you have PHP5 you can use json_encode() function to generate a proper JSON string. Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]taizen[/eluser] json_encode() was the best way of doing it. Really! Passing array to Javascript code - El Forum - 06-22-2008 [eluser]Matthieu Fauveau[/eluser] Glad to be of help ![]() |