CodeIgniter Forums
Call to remote server in core files - Printable Version

+- CodeIgniter Forums (https://forum.codeigniter.com)
+-- Forum: Archived Discussions (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Forum: Archived Development & Programming (https://forum.codeigniter.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Thread: Call to remote server in core files (/showthread.php?tid=9486)



Call to remote server in core files - El Forum - 06-26-2008

[eluser]zeedy2k[/eluser]
Can anyone help me... I need to know if there is a way of implementing a 'call home' feature in a core file of codeigniter so I can check where my script is installed and what is the best way of doing it.

Thanks in advance.

Robert


Call to remote server in core files - El Forum - 06-26-2008

[eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser]
@zeedy2k, you might get better mileage out of a licensing scheme that has less of a chance of alienating your clients/customers. You know, lock your code to a specific domain type of thing. That way you'll have to know where it is before it _can_ work.

Just a thought.

Randy

[Edited: for the name. Sorry zeedy2k]


Call to remote server in core files - El Forum - 06-26-2008

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
You could write a pre-system hook that "phones home"

Code:
if (file_get_contents('http://www.example.com/check.php') != "1")
{
  die('Illegal use of application');
}

And I'm sure you could dream up the code at http://www.example.com/check.php

Might be somewhat effective.


Call to remote server in core files - El Forum - 06-26-2008

[eluser]zeedy2k[/eluser]
Actually put something similiar to that as I dont want to go down the route yet of iono licensing.

If I was to go down the route of iono licensing can I put the check of the code into a core CI file?

Robert


Call to remote server in core files - El Forum - 06-26-2008

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
I think as long has you obey the CI license, there would be no problem with that.


Call to remote server in core files - El Forum - 06-26-2008

[eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser]
@zeedy2k -- I use the newest version of the nuSphere NuCoder tool to for distribution. Handles these issues with ease and allows you to honor CI's license along the way.

Randy