Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CodeIgniter's Website not written with CodeIgniter

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I noticed that the CodeIgniter website is not running on CodeIgniter, but instead it is reported as being powered by "ExpressionEngine" which I see is another EllisLab product. I was wondering what the CI team thinks about the feasibility of this site running on CodeIgniter?

I am new to CI so I am not too comfortable with it yet, but I wonder how effective CI would be in implementing some of the more complex areas like the Wiki, Blog, and of course, this very forum.

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
CI is a "Web Application Development Framework." CodeIgniter.com is a "Web site" not a "Web application." Sure, the lines are a bit blurred when it comes to the forums, wiki, and bug tracker.

However, Expression Engine is a Web site Content Management System, meant for building Web sites. And, the next version of EE will be built on CI. Hopefully you can grasp the difference between the tools now.

But just to summarize, CI is meant for building Web applications, not necessarily Web sites.

[eluser]Derek Allard[/eluser]
Well explained Colin.

Other advantageous of us using ExpressionEngine for this site is the numerous and already tested tools it provides us, such as these forums, the wiki, download tools, etc. The membership system is something we've integrated across expressionengine.com, codeigntier.com and ellislab.com, allowing us to share membership information for people who are part of both communities.

[eluser]J.P.C.[/eluser]
[quote author="Colin Williams" date="1219468411"]CI is a "Web Application Development Framework." CodeIgniter.com is a "Web site" not a "Web application." Sure, the lines are a bit blurred when it comes to the forums, wiki, and bug tracker.