Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How "much" do you keep under version control?

[eluser]mtbkrdave[/eluser]
Hi Y'all - CI newbie here, making his first post...

I've been poking around with CI under LAMPP for a few days, and I'm ready to start building a practice app. I'd like to keep it under version control, mostly as a best-practice but also because subversion has saved my butt on many an embedded C project, so I'm a big fan.

My question is: Just how "much" of the structure should I keep under version control? The entire CodeIgniter directory, including the framework files as well as my own? Or just the directories containing my project files?

Thanks,
[medic]dave

[eluser]drewbee[/eluser]
I keep everything; Even though CI is nice enough to have earlier version's available for download, what happens if you make a core hack, or something similar?

In general, I keep everything (including graphics) in subversion. A little over zealous, I am sure, but I know if something were to happen version'ing has my back Smile

Another scenario could be that you are getting ready for a big CI core update, and as you update everything for some unknown reason everything fails. It would be a good way to back-track the mistakes.

My vote is for all in... Smile

[eluser]darrenm[/eluser]
I tend to split my application folders away from the CI core. I then SVN each app and use Ellis Lab svn for the core.

I avoid editing the core at all costs, instead using MY_libraries etc.

However, if I did ever need to edit the core I'd branch off to a whole new project and svn everything.

[eluser]mtbkrdave[/eluser]
OK, thanks for the feedback so far!