Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
output mysql result: n:m relationship

[eluser]lolmann[/eluser]
I am relatively new to CI and also to database modeling. I did search for older posts on this topic and couldn't find the answer. But if you know about a post/article which answers this questions, feel free to link to it!

I have a book library database with three tables:
-books,
-authors and
-books2authors

books2authors defines which books have been written by which authors. Since an author can write multiple books and a book can be written by multiple authors this is a n:m relationship, right?

I'm trying to output a list of all my books in the form

- Author: Book Title
- Author2: Book Title2
etc.

I managed to do this.

The tricky part for me is: what to do if a book has more than one author?

I select the data from the database in my model like this:

Code:
$this->db->distinct();
        $this->db->join('books2authors', 'books2authors.book_id = books.book_id');
        $this->db->join('authors', 'books2authors.author_id = authors.author_id');
        $query = $this->db->get('books');
        return $query->result();

But if a book has been written by two authors, this query gives me a result row for each of the authors. My list will then look like this:

- Author1: Book Title1
- Author2: Book Title1

Whereas I want it to look like:

-Author1, Author2: Book Title1

I experimented adding a GROUP BY statement to the query:
Code:
$this->db->group_by("books.book_id");
But this causes the second author of the book to disappear entirely and my book list looks like this:

- Author1: Book Title1

What I need is a query that returns an array or object of books with a sub-array/sub-object of authors so I could walk through the list in my view file and check whether there is more than one author to a book in the list.