Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Accessing classes

[eluser]garrettheel[/eluser]
Sorry.. I'm completely new to CodeIgniter. Just wondering, I have two controllers which extend the "controller" class. How can I access a function in controller one from controller two? I'm getting a class not found error.

[eluser]Jamie Rumbelow[/eluser]
By default you can't. CodeIgniter instantiates a controller class only if it is needed i.e if it's in the url.

If needed you can load the file and do it yourself, but this is not recommended.

Code:
include( APPPATH . "controllers/whatever.php" );

$Class = new Whatever();

[eluser]dpgtfc[/eluser]
Best be is to use a library or helper for functions used by multiple controllers.

Or you can look into the Modular extensions library.

[eluser]Ty Bex[/eluser]
I think if you are new Codeigniter then reading this from wrox. It does an excellent job of explaining CodeIgniter and simple real world examples. I am in no way Afflicated with wrox but I have used this book and may others of theirs.

CodeIgniter Professional Book from WROX

Professional CodeIgniter
Thomas Myer
ISBN: 978-0-470-28245-8
Paperback
336 pages
July 2008

[eluser]zippy[/eluser]
I'm with dpgtfc on this. Shared functionality ought to be extracted to a helper function (simple case) or a library class (complex case).

What's often overlooked is the fact that a controller can hand-off (i.e., delegate) to a library class by passing its own instance ($this) to the library's constructor, or to some method of the library class.

With the controller instance in hand, the library (or its method) has unfettered access to all of the properties and methods of the controller; it is, after all, acting as delegate to the controller.

This is very powerful. It can help remove any amount of redundant code from your controller(s).

Thanks for all the replies.