Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Newbie BIG Javascript problem

[eluser]homebru[/eluser]
I am brand new to CodeIgniter and I am (was) loving it!

I am converting an existing PHP application to CodeIgniter. I know my Javascript routines work just fine in PHP but running the exact same script in CodeIgniter always returns a debug error of "Undefined value". I have greatly simplified the Javascript function being called and written it 100 different ways but it ALWAYS returns the debug error "Undefined value".

What on EARTH am I doing wrong?

Here is what my javascript code has been pruned down to ('stats_top' is the name of my form):

function changeAcct ( )
{
document.stats_top.submit();
}

Sadly, my page depends on quite a few Javascript routines so without Javascript behaving properly, I'm up the creek...

Thanks in advance

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]
Lets see the form code for this? I bet you have used form_open() and forgot to add the id in. Also, you might want to use getElementById() as it is better accross all browsers... I think?

[eluser]homebru[/eluser]
I wish it were that simple. I am using a normal HTML <form> declaration. I've tried both getElementByID and getElementbyName. I have tried every variation I can think of and still nothing works.

[eluser]homebru[/eluser]
Here's an excerpt of the code:

<form name="stats_top" id="stats_top" method="post" style="text-align:left;">
<label for="accnt"><strong>Account</strong></label>
<select name="accnt">
&lt;? foreach($clients->result() as $row): ?&gt;
<option value="&lt;?=$row->id ?&gt;" &lt;?=($id == $row->id) ? 'selected="selected"' : '' ?&gt;>&lt;?=$row->name ?&gt;</option>
&lt;? endforeach; ?&gt;
</select>

&lt;/form&gt;

[eluser]homebru[/eluser]
Thanks for your help. I solved it.

I had some old code above the form that I had forgotten to remove and it was opening a form but not closing it which meant that I should have been using document.outer_form.top.submit();