Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
phpQuery and Views

[eluser]Gerson[/eluser]
Hi everyone!

Does anyone try to use phpQuery to fill the content in a View? I'm a beginner and I'd like to use phpQuery to keep the views with pure HTML (no PHP at all) and I'm not sure how is the right (semantic) way to do this.

Any suggestions?

[eluser]TheFuzzy0ne[/eluser]
Just my two cents (and no, I've never used or even heard of phpQuery until today).

phpQuery looks nice, but I like simplicity. I can't figure out exactly what it's supposed to do, but I am interested to know whether or not it outputs valid HTML.

At the end of the day, do whatever makes life easier for you. Personally, I find HTML with a little PHP mixed in, easy to manage. Also, I am happy in the knowledge that there isn't as much overhead to parse the template than there would be with phpQuery, but as I said, whatever makes life easier for you.

[eluser]Gerson[/eluser]
hehehehehe I like your signature...

Well, you're totally right about the "overhead to parse" and really "a little PHP mixed in" is easy to manage. The point here is totally separate the Designer's work and the Programmer's work.

Let's figure it out: phpQuery is a port of jQuery (javascript framework) to PHP. It lets you use PHP to change the HTML DOM without the need of change the HTML file itself, just using CSS selectors or XPath (as jQuery does). You can get more information here: http://code.google.com/p/phpquery/ and a few examples here: http://tobiasz123.wordpress.com/2007/07/...ng-engine/