Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
What is the best way to write organize your code?

[eluser]Mareshal[/eluser]
I am asking this, because I am not a php expert. But since I started to write my scripts in CodeIgniter is a bit difficult until I'll fully understand MVC coding.

I saw I can work most of the time only with model < - > view , and use controller only for a few things(different URLs, easy stuff). Is this good for security of the script?

For example I make all database queries inside a model using functions, then I simply return the array with results(and I use the array directly in view file). Is this ok or I should make several view files for almost each function from model, then access it with controller, and then $this->load->view('view1') and so on.

Please tell me, and tell other who maybe will read this topic: how do you organize your code? What do you write in controller? what do you write in model? Views?

I am some security maniac. I want the highest level of security in my scripts.

[eluser]gtech[/eluser]
I wouldnt stress to much as CI is quite a loose frame work,

To answer your initial question:

I would be inclined to use the controller to parse the information comming in and then pass any data to the model function(s) then when the data is returned from the model you can pass that data to a single view and display accordingly (I am assuming you are developing a non Javascript/ajax orientated site). You may want to use more than one view if you have common views you wish to use for example a header or footer html.

Here are some tips I can think of:

1) Be consistant, If you find an approach that suits you that is fine, think about code readability, maintenance and reusability.

2) I consider controller functions to act like glue, they pull the data out from the request, call the correct models and then load the correct views.