Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Login security

[eluser]rkitkonsult[/eluser]
Hi,
I'm have a problem that probably is easy to fix for all of you... Please help me out, I'm not that good at this yet...

When a user log in I want to check that the username or password wasnt an sql-injection attempt or somethin like that. How do I do?

This is an example of my thoughts:

//Clean username
$post_username = $this->input->post('username');
$xss_username = $this->input->xss_clean($post_username);
$clean_username = $this->db->escape($xss_username);

//Clean password
$post_password = $this->input->post('password');
$xss_password = $this->input->xss_clean($post_password);
$clean_password = $this->db->escape($xss_password);
$hashed_password = dohash($clean_password);

//Check if match in database
$this->db->select('Username, Password');
$this->db->where('Username', $clean_username);
$this->db->where('Password', $hashed_password);
$query = $this->db->get('Users');

This doesnt work! Its the 'cleaning' parts that gives me troubles... What am I doing wrong?

[eluser]alboyd[/eluser]
Well that looks like an incredibly long winded way of doing things for a start. But apart from that did you load the security library?

But either way - scrap that!

Starting from the beginning:

1. For your login form, use the form_validation library to validate the user's input but also to xss_clean the input at the same time. Add the xss_clean to the validation rules;

Code:
$this->form_validation->set_rules('username', 'Username', 'required|trim|min_length[6]|max_length[20]|xss_clean');

2. In your model, when you query the login - use query bindings. These have the advantage in that the values are escaped for you. So now you have run the xss_clean filter and escaped your values. I'm a relative newby too but I'm under the impression this is good enough and safe enough to follow these rules.

Code:
function check_login($username, $password) {

$sha1_password = sha1($password);