Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Advatage of "Active Record Database Pattern"

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Greetings.

While learning CI I stumble about the "Active Record Class" and for me - as a procedual oriented programmer I cannot see the real advantages of the "Active Record Database Pattern" clearly.

- OK, in an OO-Environment you have to use OO-Tools and OO-Syntax.
- OK, I understand that entries are automatically escaped

I read a little bit in Wikipedia and there I found out that the ARD-Pattern is also an abstraction-layer, and that the framework takes care of changing syntax in different SQL-Environments.

Was that all - or did I miss a "big thing" 8-)

Because, when I know that I will always use my sweet MySQL-Server and escape myself - it looks to me, that $this->db->query() will be faster to code. Or did I overlook something?

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
I think it's most useful for people who have no database experience. IMHO it's main use is cleanliness/readability. It has it's benefits, but also severe limitations for complex queries. It can be nice for simple queries, eg:

Code:
$this->db->where('id', $id)->get($this->table);
// vs.
$this->db->query("SELECT * FROM `" . $this->table . "` WHERE `id` = " . $id);

It can also be useful for conditional updating, rather than a long string of concatenations you can just call $this->db->set() in if() blocks.

Code:
$this->db->set("field_a", "value_a");
if($a == true) {
    $this->db->set("field_b", "value_b");
}
// vs.
$this->db->query("UPDATE `some_table` SET `field_a` = 'value_a'" . ( $a ? ", `field_b` = 'value_b'" : '' ) . " ... ");

Or especially when updating/inserting a long list of fields.