Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Yet another index.php problem

[eluser]ufasoli[/eluser]
Hello everyone,
I'm really new to codeIniter and I'm having a lot of trouble removing the "index.php" file I've been looking around in the forum and tried all the configurations that I could find in the forum(including the one in the user guide) for the .htaccess file but it still does not work :

Code:
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php/$1 [L]
</IfModule>

<IfModule !mod_rewrite.c>
    # If we don't have mod_rewrite installed, all 404's
    # can be sent to index.php, and everything works as normal.
    # Submitted by: ElliotHaughin
    ErrorDocument 404 /index.php
</IfModule>

I've already configured as well the lines in the config.php file

Code:
$config['base_url']    = "http://localhost/field_center/";

$config['index_page'] = "";
here is my directory structure

-styles
-images
-system
--application
(all the other code igniter files & folders)
-index.php

I hope someone can help me with this

thx

ufasoli

[eluser]kbauman[/eluser]
I don't really know much about re-write rules, but here is what I use that has worked fine:

Code:
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond $1 !^(index\.php|images|css|javascript|rte|robots\.txt)
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php/$1 [L]

[eluser]Higher Logic[/eluser]
The rewrite rules suggested by CI did not work for me either, they would not parse CSS, images, and other files like that, even though I had them in the list of things not to process. Would only display text. Now, it might have had to do with the fact that I forgot to leave $config['index_page'] empty.

I don't like the index.php in there, don't even see why that is on by default, terribly ugly. Anyways, my directory structure is as follows:

CodeIgniter system files
/home/username/system

CodeIgniter index file