Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Compelling Reasons to Switch to CodeIgniter

[eluser]IgnitedCoder[/eluser]
Hi Guys,

As a CI developer I often forget some of the most compelling reasons I switched from pure PHP and Dreamweaver to CI. I now find myself in a situation where a client has developers who built a pretty good system using CodeCharge which as you may or may not know is a visual wysiwyg development tool, it includes wizards for just about everything. This certainly makes life easy, however the code it produces isn't very clean but one would ask if the system works why do we need clean code? Anyway I digress from the subject...

I spent approximately 2 hours going over why codeigniter would be the better choice for our future development efforts. What we are doing is providing SaaS and the old, I should say, current application was developed in CodeCharge to which another developer added a bunch of includes for FPDF lib. Don't get me wrong the application the have works but it won't be easy to scale up because of generated code, second I've never seen CodeCharge used in a team development environment. Its clearly not MVC which means we have files all over the place, no detailed and structured view of whats where.

As I said I spent a good few hours going over the reasons to switch to CI and it fell on argumentative ears to say the least. Now heres the thing, the CIO calls me back and says come back gives us more reasons why we should be switching to CI. The developers tell me that they saw nothing CI could provide that they didn't already have in CodeCharge.

For one thing, CodeCharge doesn't seem to be a Team Development Suite. Second I think "personal opinion here" that these guys are a little afraid of hand coding anything. Why should I hand code anything when I can simply design it using a GUI and I have the code then I can just include other functions using a include statement? "I was asked this about 10 times".