Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Detecting a users first visit to a website using codeigniters session library

[eluser]Bainzy[/eluser]
As above really people, is there any way i can detect if its the users first visit to my site, and if so show them a message ?

Bit stuck, have done a search but nothing came up.

Chris

[eluser]verynewtothis[/eluser]
How about using cookies for this?

[eluser]jsfmills[/eluser]
Codeigniter session problems is resolved for internet explorer but still create problem in WAP.I'm pretty new to codeigniter, but not new to frameworks.I've tried them all and I find codeigniter to be the best overall.Keywords in the URL now have only a very minor impact on the search results, if at all.

[eluser]bretticus[/eluser]
No need to use sessions. Sessions are not really meant for this kind of thing anyway. Sessions store user-specific data for some length. In other words, they allow a website to keep state with any given browser using the stateless protocol http. This is the kind of thing that allows the webserver to keep you logged into a secure area of the website (you get the picture no doubt.) CodeIgniter Sessions work by storing either a random key or a random key plus the data in a cookie. This key, or session id, is returned each time your browser makes a new request. Sessions are meant to die after a set amount of time. So even if your cookie never expires, the Session mechanism at the server will ignore expired sessions because its internal registry of current sessions has been cleansed. This is exactly why sessions are a poor choice for what you need.