Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
MVC, MySQL Transactions, and referencing a model from within a model

[eluser]pbarney[/eluser]
Guys, I'm stuck. I'm fairly new to CI (about a month), and there's much I don't understand. I seek guidance.

I've got four tables that are all interrelated (this is a very normalized database):

users (user login & password info)
contacts (contact information i.e., contact & mailing information)
clients (client-specific data)
companies (company information)

These tables are all related with foreign key constraints. For example, a user will have associated contact information, company information, and client information. I've got models for each of the tables.

Consequently, when I create a new member, there are updates to all tables, and I use a member_model that uses MySQL transactions for that.

The problem is, apparently you can't load a model within a model. It gives me an "undefined property" error.

But my question is not so much how one loads a model within a model, but rather, what is the best way to do database transactions in CI (which necessitates using multiple models), while still keeping the transactional code in the model (where it should be).

I know an easy answer is to move everything up to the controller, but then the controller would be assuming a role that is intended for a model. I believe in smart models, thin controllers, and dumb views, so I would like to keep this strictly MVC if possible.

For all I know, my approach may be flawed, as I'm still learning OOP concepts.

How would you approach this?

Here is some stripped-down code for illustration purposes:

members.php (controller)
Code:
<?php
class Members extends Controller
{

function __construct()
    {
        parent::Controller();    
    }

function create_member()
    {
        // $member_data contains fieldsets for all four tables
        $member_data = {magically appears after validation, scrubbing, etc}

// load our members model