Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
File encryption / decription in CodeIgniter

[eluser]Birger Eelen[/eluser]
Hi,

I'm fairly new to CodeIgniter but I like the flexibility which allows me to code faster and better!

I am building an application where users can upload their files to the server and download them when they want. I'd like to add some security so I encrypted the filename and the reference to the database.

However, a full textsearch on the server will still reveal the file, so I want the files to be encrypted when uploading and decrypted when downloading. Is this possible with CodeIgniter? I've seen the Encryption Class but that's limited to strings.

Thanks,

Birger

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
What do mean by 'full text search'? You have an online function that allows searching the filesystem? That doesn't seem save to me.

If you need this feature, simply store uploaded files outside the docroot, and use a controller method to facilitate the download.

What I forgot to mention is the application will be hosted on a private server, accessible by the IT administrator. So basically, he can access all the files on the server and therefore run an application searching all the files, including their contents.

So what I'd like to do is add an encryption the files cannot simply be viewed on the server. I know there are desktop applications available for this kind of things, but I was wondering if CodeIgniter has an similar functionality.

I am also aware that encryption isn't bullet proof, but I'd simply like to add extra security.

Ok, so you don't trust the administrator?

A decent administrator will also have access to the PHP source, one line extra will save the entered passwords to disk, and the database will provide him(or her) with all other info needed. A little application level encryption wouldn't stop him (or her).

Sounds like a completely different problem, one you shouldn't try to solve in code. Instead, sack the dude!