Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Building Forum using CI, mocking ExpressionEngine forum

[eluser]Jon L[/eluser]
I think the ExpressionEngine forum module appears to be effective, light enough, speedy enough, etc, and I also like the default theme used here, so in my spare time I've been working on building up a forum of my own, but completely copying the forum appearance and functionality that you find here in the codeigniter forums. i'm not a designer, which is why I copied the theme appearance, but I'll have a designer redesign the application once I'm finished.

progress
I'd say I'm about 60% complete on the frontend (haven't worked on administrative portion yet), and I haven't built user management yet, though that's next on my to-do.

basic functionality
adding/removing categories and unlimited-recursion subcategories is functioning, as are threads, posts, and replies. i made an enhancement as well, so that when subcategories exist within a given category, they display above the thread list.

posts have properly functioning smileys and bbcode usage.

features
regarding bbcode, I found a user-contributed bbcode helper that I've used as a base, and then I extended it to support quote tags, code tags, and even advanced code tags for special geshi-syntax highlighting (so you can specify code="php", and you'll have php syntax highlighting).

another thing about my bbcode implementation, is that if you try to nest code tags here or in most other forum software, you'll find that nested code tags tend to break. i.e. - {code} stuff {code} nested bbcode example {/code} here {/code}

the proper intended functionality for a nested code tag, is for you to be able to reference the bbcode code tag itself as-is.

my implementation of the code tag parsing preserves nested code blocks without parsing :-)

to-do