Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Looking for suggestions/help - a Todo App using CI2 and Datamapper ORM

[eluser]matula[/eluser]
I'm a lone developer on a current project, and miss having others to bounce ideas off of and get suggestions, so I thought I'd throw this out there to see if anyone can offer some direction to problems I'm trying to wrap my brain around.

The project is essentially a Todo list, where a Customer needs to create a "widget". To create the widget, they must follow a predetermined list of steps, in order. There are actually 3 main steps, with multiple sub-steps... and some of those sub-steps also have sub-steps.

My first problem is how to setup the db tables. Right now, I'm working with a Customers table and a Widgets table (since the Customer can have multiple Widgets) and a Steps table. I've also created a widgets_steps table as a join table.
The tables are currently setup like this:
Quote:Customers: id(INT), name(VARCHAR255)
Widgets: id(INT), name(VARCHAR255), created(DATETIME), updated(DATETIME), customer_id(INT)
Steps: id(INT), step(VARCHAR255), order(INT),parentstep_id(INT)

In my models, I have this set up:
Code:
//customer.php
$has_many = array('widget');
//widget.php
$has_one = array('customer');
$has_many = array('step');
//step.php
$has_many = array('widget');

The three main steps have a parentstep_id = 0, and I'm able to print out all the steps like this:
Code:
$s = new Step();
$s->where('parentstep_id',0)->order_by('order')->get();
foreach($s as $step){
    echo "<h2>" . $step->step . "</h2>";
    $s2 = new Step();
    $s2->where('parentstep_id',$step->id)->order_by('order')->get();
    foreach($s2 as $sub1) {
    echo "<b>"  . $sub->step . "</b>";
    $s3 = new Step();
    $s3->where('parentstep_id',$sub1->id)->order_by('order')->get();
    foreach($s3 as $sub2) {
        echo "...." . $sub2->step . "<br/>";
    }
    }
}