Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Nested Views Rendering Out of Order

[eluser]nickp[/eluser]
Hi all,
I'm very new to CI, but it's been working great so far. My only problem seems to stem from nested views; some are rendering out of order. Currently, I have a login form that is supposed to display in my "header," but is instead rendering before the entire page. I've read some older topics in the forums regarding this (http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/88335/ and http://ellislab.com/forums/viewthread/113358/#573470), as well as some guides online, but I'm still not sure I understand best practice.

What I'm trying to do is create a view that is essentially a template for 90% of the pages on my site, simply so that I don't have to load multiple views in the controllers each time (i.e. header, content, footer). template.php looks like this:
Code:
<?php
$this->load->view('includes/header');

$this->load->view($main_content);

$this->load->view('includes/footer');
?>

All controller functions will set the necessary variables and load this file using:
Code:
$this->load->view('template', $data);

At this point, everything is displaying properly.
header.php looks like this:
Code:
[all html, head, body, etc...]
<div id="utility">
&lt;?php if(modules::run('membership/_isLoggedIn', FALSE)) : ?&gt;
    various data
&lt;?php else : ?&gt;
    &lt;?php $this->load->view('membership/login_form'); ?&gt;
&lt;?php endif; ?&gt;
</div>

Finally, login_form.php is something like this:
Code:
<div id="login_form">
echo form_open('blah');
echo form_input(...)
echo form_close();
</div>

This is obviously shortened, but essentially if the user is logged in, data is displayed. If not, a login form is displayed in the header.