Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
2 tables, 1 query. Join help appreciated. [SOLVED]

[eluser]codelearn[/eluser]
Another problem with another facet of MySQL/Active Record I am still learning.

I have 2 tables. Table 1 is restaurant coupons with all of the coupon info and a rest_id field which ties into the id field of the restaurant table. For instance a coupon for izza from John's Pizza would have a rest_id value of 10, and the id value of 10 in the restaurant table points to all the info about John's Pizza.

If your still with me, how would I make a query (join statement I believe) which would pull all of the data from restaurant coupons table depending on where statements made in the actual restaurant table.

My exact problem is that I need to show coupons based on which school they are at, and that information is only in the restaurant table - not the coupon table.

Thanks guys.

[eluser]zauber[/eluser]
This should work (in principle) to show you a table with all the coupons in one column, and all the schools from another.

SELECT
coupon.name AS coupon,
restaurant.school AS school
FROM
coupon
INNER JOIN restaurant ON coupon.rest_id = restaurant.id

If, for whatever reason there are some coupons with rest_id's that don't match any restaurant.id, then this query will not show them. If what you want is really a list of ALL coupons, showing the school only if there is a matching restaurant, then replace the "INNER JOIN" with a "LEFT JOIN".

If what you want is not a list of all coupons, but just the school for a coupon with a given coupon.id, then try this:

$this->db->query("SELECT restaurant.school FROM coupon INNER JOIN restaurant ON restaurant.id=coupon.rest_id WHERE coupon.id=?",array($myCouponId));

Zauber...

To clarify: