Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
MVC convenctions - how does it work?

[eluser]yarek[/eluser]
Hello,

I'm a beginner to Code Igniter and MVC so I ask. Lets say i want to build an application named "cms" (just testing). I create cms_model and cms_controller. I want to put some news on a main site so I create entry_model and entry_conroller. Now I need to join these two things and I do something like this:
1) I load entry_model within my cms_controller and use it to get news from a database
2) I use entry_controller just to insert and modificate entries stored in a database.

Is it wrong? Did I break the rules of MVC patterns? I just can't get how to join all my application pieces and use it in one controller. The other idea I thought was: I create only one controller and few models and I use it only in that one controller. What do you think?

[eluser]nmweb[/eluser]
You have several controllers for related functions, a controller for user stuff, a controller for article stuff ,etc.

Apart from that you have models, often one model would represent one type of data, say a table in your database. Or news-stuff stored in text-files. Etc..

You can happily use a model in several controllers, its recommended even as it promotes DRY. Your frontpage e.g. needs user-related,news-related,comment-related data, you can load a model for each one, in one controller.

Keep in mind that models do the retrieving from the database, you kindly ask the model to give you the information.

[eluser]ejangi[/eluser]
Hi Yarek, welcome to the forums! I posted a reply to a previous similar query late last year. I hope it helps.

[eluser]Vik[/eluser]
The way I like to think of it is...

-- anything that accesses a database goes in the Model

-- anything that puts text on the screen goes in the View (and the view can't contain any database calls)

-- the code that calls/controls/coordinates the View and the Model, goes in the Controller.

[eluser]yarek[/eluser]