Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Question about Freak Auth Registration and Activation

[eluser]ashleyA[/eluser]
Hi everyone,
I am pretty new to CI and Freak Auth, I am currently working on my first project using CI & FAL, the question I have is whenever someone registers at my site, the FAL sends them an email instructing them to activate, when they click the activate uri it takes them to the activation page and says "We are sorry, but your activation has failed. Contact the site administrator for assistance." Even though it says it has failed, it still moves the user's registration details from the user_temp table to user table. It is very frustrating to see it do this.

Can someone please help me

Thanks
Ashley

[eluser]Grahack[/eluser]
Hi,
this is quite strange. Could you precise the background (OS, CI version, FAL version...)? Do you have a live install that I could test?

[eluser]ashleyA[/eluser]
I have a live install at http://www.abrahamsphotography.com/index.php , please feel free to test it.

The background info

I am hosting my site in a Linux Server with 1and1.com and
CI Ver 1.5.4
FAL Ver 1.1
PHP Ver 5.2.4

The only change I made to the FAL code was is to use the email address as the username and made the required changes to the code to handle username checks, duplicate checks and validations. So, basically I am storing the email address in both the username field and email field in the database. The email as the username part is working with no problem at all. I dont know how it could affect the email activation part.

I have attached two snapshots, first one of user_temp table after someone registers and the second one is of the user table after the activation. The reason for attaching them is just to show how the registration is successful and the activation email is also sent properly and all.

Thanks for taking a look

Thanks,
Ashley

[eluser]ashleyA[/eluser]
Hi Grahack,