Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Static Pages

I am studying the "Static Pages" in the CodeIgniter Tutorial. I'm stuck what appears to be a simple problem.

I understand everything up to this line - In that directory, create two files named home.php and about.php. Within those files, type some text - anything you’d like - and save them. If you like to be particularly un-original, try “Hello World!”.

But then - In order to load those pages, you’ll have to check whether the requested page actually exists: - (I understand the words in that line but despite reading the page many times, I have no idea where to put the following code.)

public function view($page = 'home')
{
        if ( ! file_exists(APPPATH.'/views/pages/'.$page.'.php'))
        {
                // Whoops, we don't have a page for that!
                show_404();
        }
        $data['title'] = ucfirst($page); // Capitalize the first letter
        $this->load->view('templates/header', $data);
        $this->load->view('pages/'.$page, $data);
        $this->load->view('templates/footer', $data);
}

(This post was last modified: 07-08-2015, 12:51 PM by Dracula.)

(07-08-2015, 09:55 AM)christaliise Wrote: I am studying the "Static Pages" in the CodeIgniter Tutorial. I'm stuck what appears to be a simple problem.

I understand everything up to this line - In that directory, create two files named home.php and about.php. Within those files, type some text - anything you’d like - and save them. If you like to be particularly un-original, try “Hello World!”.

But then - In order to load those pages, you’ll have to check whether the requested page actually exists: - (I understand the words in that line but despite reading the page many times, I have no idea where to put the following code.)

{
        {
                show_404();
        }
}

You have to create a controller in application/controllers directory.