Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Form helper textarea load file

Hi Guys,

Sorry, I am a beginner to codeigniter

I am using textarea from "form helper" and I need to add some text to it. It's a big text so I want to put it in a different file and call this file on $data value variable

how can I do it?

Thanks

Hey... Well, I think the easiest way to do it, without having to open the file or create a handle or anything like that, is to use the get_file_contents() function.
PHP Code:
$data get_file_contents('text_for_textarea_field.txt'); 
Hey, don't work without a PHP debugger. Several free IDEs have this features built in. Two are NetBeans and CodeLobster. Without a debugger, it's like you're driving with a blindfold on -- you are going to crash!

(09-07-2015, 02:03 PM)Looks like this function doesn\t exist Wrote:
Code:
PHP Fatal error:  Call to undefined function get_file_contents()

Code:
root@ubuntu64:/# php --version
PHP 5.5.9-1ubuntu4.11 (cli) (built: Jul  2 2015 15:23:08)
Copyright (c) 1997-2014 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.5.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2014 Zend Technologies
   with Zend OPcache v7.0.3, Copyright (c) 1999-2014, by Zend Technologies
root@ubuntu64:/#

RobertSFHey... Well, I think the easiest way to do it, without having to open the file or create a handle or anything like that, is to use the get_file_contents() function.

PHP Code:
$data get_file_contents('text_for_textarea_field.txt'); 

Looks like it is file_get_contents and not get_file_contents

Now I don't get any error. But it also doesn't work

I am calling it directly, forgive my stupidity

$data = array(
'name' => 'txt_area',
'id' => 'txt_area',
'value' => file_get_contents('resources/contract/contract.txt'),
'rows' => '18',
'cols' => '22',
'style' => 'width:50%',
);

(09-07-2015, 03:50 PM)gabrielpasv Wrote: Looks like it is file_get_contents and not get_file_contents

Now I don't get any error. But it also doesn't work

I am calling it directly, forgive my stupidity