Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Problem with construct double loading

Hi

CodeIgniter noob here. I have an interesting problem with CodeIgniter. My model constructs are always always loaded at least twice.

I tested the system with fresh CI install. Unziped codeigniter_3.0.3.zip to server (Ubuntu 14.04 LTS), and created simple model:

PHP Code:
<?php
if ( ! defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed');

Class 
Test_model extends CI_Model
{

function __construct()

{

echo "Construct loaded<br />";

log_message('debug'"Test_model loaded...");

}

And then added it to default Welcome controller:

PHP Code:
<?php

defined
('BASEPATH') OR exit('No direct script access allowed');

class 
Welcome extends CI_Controller {

public function 
index()
    {

$this->load->model('Test_model');

$test = new Test_model();

$this->load->view('welcome_message');
    }

And changed the log threshold to 4. And that prints the line "Construct loaded" twice to screen and prints three "Test_model loaded..." messages to log. I found that it might be cause by the favicon.ico file not found, so I added it, but no change.

So, any pointers how to rid of this problem? Or is this actually problem at all (1)? Is this a (known?) bug in CI, or problem with server? Or problem with configuration? Or have I just misunderstood something fundamental?

I can replicate this behavior with all linux servers I have access to.

Server: Ubuntu linux 14.04 LTS (with latest updates and PHP 5.5.9), or webhotel server (with some debian and PHP 5.3.27).
Client: Os X (updated yosemite or El capitan, & latest Firefox or Chrome)