Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CodeIgniter version 1.7.2.1

Hi everyone,

I'm new to CodeIgniter! I became a member to learn CodeIgniter and share my other dev skills with the forum. But my new job wants me to maintain a site that was build using CI 1.7.2.1.  I recently completed tutorials from youtube and read latest versions to learn basics. However I can't find documentation or videos to learn the old version, and migrate/ update to latest version.

Has anyone done this before, or has better options that will help me learn how this program was build, and learn how to edit content, add more features, pages, etc. 

I appreciate all of your help.

Best regards,

Yohan

Found one here for you

http://lang-lang.org/user_guide/index.html

Makes no sense to maintain the site in such an insecure and error full version. It has not been supported for some time and an upgrade is an essential step. Should not take too long to do. You can install a latest version locally, move all the controllers and views and libraries etc over, rename them and start debugging.

Best wishes,

Paul

Paul you are a rock star!! Thank you sooo much for even respond.

I know it doesn't make sense, that's why I need all of your thoughts to act fast before intending to get started in the right direction. I installed latest version, when you say "move all the controllers, views and libraries, etc. rename them and start debugging", you mean to copy and paste the entire program folder? see screenshot: http://screencast.com/t/j2GI9BA4X

Questions:
1. Do I replace these folders to the ones in CI 3.x fresh install?
2. When you say debugging you mean to use Netbeans or any other IDE that has debug capabilities?
3. I still have not downloaded a copy of the DB, which is hosted in hostgator.

Thanks again...

Hi,