Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CSS corruption dependent on URI

If 'home/index' is set in routes.php as the 'default_controller', and the usual rewrite rule has been put in .htaccess, then there are 6 URLs that will invoke the default controller method:
1. www.mysite.com
2. www.mysite.com/index.php
3. www.mysite.com/index.php/home
4. www.mysite.com/index.php/home/index
5. www.mysite.com/home
6. www.mysite.com/home/index

In each of these six cases, the exact same controller method is invoked, so the output should be identical in each case. Correct?
It seems not so.
I've been using CodeIgniter 2 for many years, but recently started a new project using CodeIgniter 3.1.2 and Bootstrap 3.3.7. The home/index method simply loads 4 views: header, navbar, content, and footer. The navbar has CSS class navbar-fixed-top (anchored to the top of the window), and the content is a trivial paragraph of text inside a fluid container with a margin-top of 50px to accommodate the navbar.
The problem: In 3 of the above 6 cases (#1,#2,#5), there is extra white space between the navbar and the content.
I have no clue how this can happen, except for some varying CSS injected by codeigniter that causes problems.
You can see this in action by going to http://www.arsupport.org where I've set up the navbar to demonstrate this, with 6 menu choices corresponding to the above 6 cases.
If you understand how/why this happens, and, better yet, can tell me how to prevent this, I'd love to hear from you!
(Btw, if I remove the margin-top:50px from the content style, then the 3 problem cases are corrected, but in the other three cases that were correct the content is at the top of the window and partially covered by the navbar!)

- - -   /-/ a n s

In #3,4 and 6 you get a 404 error, a CSS file is not loaded because the path does not exists. You are trying to load them relative to the current path. You should use absolute path or the url helper.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)