Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Rewrite Kohana cascading filesystem to CodeIgniter with namespaces

(This post was last modified: 08-03-2020, 12:37 PM by Edwin82.)

Hello,

We have a self developed Content Management System, bases on Kohana Framework. Kohana is not supported anymore, so we are searching for another framework. Kohana was once created from CodeIgniter and I have some experience with CodeIgniter. Kohana and Codeigniter are still somewhat similar. There are a lot of differences of course, but I think it is more easy to rewrite the code to CodeIgniter then to Laravel or any other framework.

We are using the cascading filesystem on Kohana to add a new 'layer' between system and application.
Lets say we have this structure:

root
  /application (Website dependent exceptions). This folder is called 'app' in CodeIgniter.
  /inzite (Our CMS base code)
  /modules (Kohana folder)
  /system (Kohana folder)

The CMS is used for hundreds of websites. Every website has his own instance of the code. The base CMS code is in the 'cms' folder. The exceptions for every site are in the 'application' folder. This can be Views, Controller, Model, etc.

So, instead of having
root
  /application
  /system

we have
root
  /application
  /inzite
  /system

This gives us the advantage to update the cms folder, without touching the application folder. That makes an update easier. We are not using namespaces, but we want to do that in the future.

Now I want to say more about the folder structure.

root
  /application/classes/Controller/Page.php (Optional. Does not have to exist. Only when there is an exception.)
    class Controller_Page extends Inzite_Controller_Page {}

/application/classes/Model/Page.php (Optional. Does not have to exist[b][i]. Only when there is an exception.)[/i][/b]
    class Model_Page extends Inzite_Model_Page {}

/cms/classes/Controller/Page.php (This is a dummy file)
    class Controller_Page extends Inzite_Controller_Page {}