Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Moving from Laravel
Wink 

Hi,

I have been using Laravel up to this point, a small website with a blog, gallery and a few other elements I built.  I turned to Laravel as I wanted complete control over the way my site worked and nothing gave me exactly what I needed.  I am not a developer just someone who learnt PHP to get what I wanted.

My issue is that with every Laravel release (8 was just launched) it just seem to get more and more complex, introduces new 3rd party tools to learn. Although you can choose not to use, choosing not to appears to fight against the direction of the framework.

Like I say, not a developer and don't want to have to learn Laravel, mix, tailwind, npm, vue and so on just to keep my site running.

So I am looking for an alternative framework that keeps it far simpler.  CodeIgniter has been suggested although I have never used it.

Before I spend time on it I was wondering if some of you had views on the potential issues someone like me will have rebuilding in CI having come from Laravel?  

Thanks for any help. Heart

Codeigniter is really easy to learn, the learning curve compared to laravel is way smaller.

I don't know the structure of your application, but if you have a simple MVC structure inside laravel you wont have any problems re-writing that in Codeigniter.
Website: marcomonteiro.net  | Blog: blog.marcomonteiro.net | Twitter: @marcogmonteiro | TILThings: tilthings.com

Just my $0,02:
My history with CI is that I came from Zend Framework to CI2 many, many years ago. I transitioned to CI3, but with the major changes between CI3 and CI4 and a complete re-write of my projects for CI4 on the horizon I scanned the market for alternatives. Laravel seems to be the de-facto standard of choice with many supporters and even conferences so that was a natural choice.