Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Ajax request using site_url not working

(This post was last modified: 01-19-2015, 02:51 AM by DreamOfSleeping.)

Hello. I'm new to php, ajax and codeigniter so I'm sure I'm doing something silly. But this code works...

edit: Forgot to mention I'm using Jquery for the first time as well!

Code:
$.ajax({
           type: 'POST',
           url: "http://localhost/websitename/index.php/signup/email_available",
           data: {email: e},
           success: function(response) {
               signupValidator.emailAvailableCallback(response);
           }
       })

But this code does not work....

Code:
$.ajax({
           url: "<?php echo site_url('signup/email_available')?>",
           },

error: function(s, s2, s3) {
               alert(s.responseText);
           }
       })

Basically the problem is with the php echo site url line. This does not seem to be working. I'm not sure how to even check what it is printing out. When I check the source on the page the php code is written out and not the site address. I've searched many examples on the internet and they all seem to do it the way I have tried.

*websitename isn't actually the name of my site. I changed that as I copied the code in because I don't want then name of my site known yet.

Use Alert to show it, then you can see what it is doing.

I use global js vars for passing in the url's.
What did you Try? What did you Get? What did you Expect?

Joined CodeIgniter Community 2009.  ( Skype: insitfx )

Cool thanks. I'm happy to use global js vars if that's deemed ok. It makes sense. That means when my url changes I only have one extra place to change it.

I've used alerts to show errors, but I've not found anything that tells me what the url it's been sent to. I'm not really sure how php works when it's embedded in javascript.

Well... after the echo you should put a semicolon: 
Code:
<?php echo site_url('signup/email_available');?>