Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
New to programming and trying to understand it all.

[eluser]jjcalleiro[/eluser]
Im running through the first Hello World tutorial here on the site. At the end of the Hello World screencast i add the the following code.

Code:
function Blog() {
    parent::Controller();
}

Its not explained, but i would like to know the purpose of this as i see no difference in the output of the view.

Thanks in advance.

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
The function is a constructor which means it gets executed when the class is called.

The parent::Controller() line is to inherit the constructor of the Controller class. This is needed if you want to add things to the constructor of your extended class otherwise you overwrite the Controller class constructor and you are going to end up with errors.

It is explained in the user guide but it isn't that clear.

[eluser]Rabbi[/eluser]
I am new in CodeIgniter framework. I read the user_guide from CodeIgniter Site but it doesn't work for me. Sad

I don't know why? I am using IIS server for my own pc.

I just tried with Controllers chapter from user_guide.

I coded according to the chapter but this link isn't working in my pc.
http://localhost/ci/index.php/blog/

Where, ci="CodeIgniter" folder of mine.

It shows "No input file specified."

Also tried with this link: http://localhost/ci/index.php/blog/index

I changed URL in application\config\config.php for "localhost". Like this:
$config['base_url'] = "http://localhost/ci/";

Can anyone tell me why this is happening? How can i get correct result?? Please help me.

Thnx

[eluser]xwero[/eluser]
Rabbi you should ask your question in another topic now you are threadjacking which is confusing because now there are two topics, the original one and yours.