Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Fully qualified SEO URLs, how to be allowed to use them?

[eluser]Zarkow[/eluser]
I'm very new to CI so bare with me, but I have been reading all the docs and this forum but one thing, which might be trivial for some but of high value to us, is the ability to have fully qualified and optimized URLs.

This for example means that http://example.com/outsourcing-services/ is a better URL than just /services/, but php doesn't allow the object names to contain '-'...and naming the controller file outsourcing-services.php while having the class be named 'Outsourceservices' doesn't work either since then CI returns 404, file not found...

So how does one go about to have urls containing dashes? At highest level already. While still keeping the source neatly divided into the different controllers for different areas if wanted.

I'm sure it's something easy I missed, but too much reading turns one blind sometimes.

Thanks in advance.

[eluser]Yash[/eluser]
Controller cannot have dash and all..No full proof solution yet.

you are allowed to used dash in next url segments.

[eluser]wiredesignz[/eluser]
There is a little function in the CI url_helper named url_title() which may help here.

Example:
Code:
url_title('some-url-string', 'underscore'); // produces 'some_url_string'
The default option is 'dash' and will convert in the opposite direction if the second variable is omitted.

[eluser]Zarkow[/eluser]
Yash: Thanks for your fast response...I suppose one way would be to use mod_rewrite to splice a dash-one-dir-url to several sections...which kinda negates the point of not going from that to a normal file+parameter style right away...owell. Big Grin

[quote author="wiredesignz" date="1216744916"]There is a little function in the CI url_helper named url_title() which may help here.

Example:
Code:
url_title('some-url-string', 'underscore'); // produces 'some_url_string'