Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
User Login Page?

[eluser]ywftdg[/eluser]
Hey guys, I have been prowling these boards all day, but nothing really seems to make sense to me. I am still new to CI, and a basic PHP coder, so bare with me.

I am trying to create a basic login page, I have about 20 users in my database. I am trying to rebuild this section using CI. I just don't understand how to make a MVC model for this, to help get my project started.

Do I need two controllers, one to load login form and another to check the login information sent? Can this be done with one controller? In the past my index would be login, if they login, the index loads the user front page content as well.

Then a model to query the database to see if the user exists, if so if the password is correct?

I am sure may of you guys have done this many times, maybe someone has some basic code for me to study? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

[eluser]johnwbaxter[/eluser]
You can do it all in one controller no problem.

Have a look in the wiki http://codeigniter.com/wiki/Simplelogin an auth library called simplelogin. Download it and have a look at the sample controller and views in it. They should be very useful.

[eluser]Nathan Moore[/eluser]
Simplelogin is a good library to reference.

If you wanted to build something yourself, you could use a custom validation method. Basically, you would check validation at the beginning of your login method in the controller.

Have the custom validation function check the database to verify the user credentials are correct. If so, allow them to login, set a cookie/session, etc.

If not, show the form.

You will also want to make sure the authentication checks out at the beginning of the controller for any password-protected area.

Check out this page: http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...ation.html
And look under the "Callbacks: Your own Validation Functions" heading

I hope that helps!

[eluser]Developer13[/eluser]