Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Dynamic Footers

[eluser]wdcci[/eluser]
Hello Everyone. I just wanted to say that so far I love Code Igniter's and this forum as well. Great posts!

I am new to Code Igniter and the idea of using a MVC system. I am working on a project that requires me to create a dynamic footer that consists of 4 columns (retail, professional, health, public services) of category specific businesses displaying the company name as a link to an internal company page. This information needs to be database driven as they will add new businesses. I would like to have a template or an include that calls this information when needed (on every page actually). I don't see how I can do this without having to call the same model and load the results into the variables inside every function in my controller class. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

[eluser]valarkin[/eluser]
Hello wdcci, welcome to the CI forums and to CI itself!

What I would do is create a post controller hook that would append that data to what is in your display. This way the logic and code is in a single place and it allows you to have a cleaner controller. You can read up more on hooks in the user manual here: http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...hooks.html.

Later

[eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser]
There are a million ways of doing this. I would probably create a library to generate the output, autoload the library, and then call the proper function in the footer view.

A similar approach to the post controller hook would be to create an extended controller and give it an _output function (_output is automatically called after your controller executes). Then just add the needed code there.

[eluser]wdcci[/eluser]
Thanks for all of the great answers. How would I go about calling the function from my view?

[eluser]valarkin[/eluser]
Edit: Ah, well it helps if I reread the post before jumping to conclusions. Smile

[eluser]Colin Williams[/eluser]
With PHP.

Code: