Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
honestly... how hard can it be?

[eluser]ICEcoffee[/eluser]
Ok, so off the bat I admit I'm a bit of a noob, so I don't really know what I'm talking about, so pls keep that in mind as you read on.

I am currently developing an teaching/instructional web application. I need to integrate a forum. I don't need a feature rich forum, but I do need to be able to add custom fields, for example....

A users creates a new post, in which the user is seeking advice. Let's assume people reply to the post. The OP'er can then rate the reply as to how useful the reply was. This 'rating' system is a CORE feature of the web app.

I looked in the Codeigniter wiki, and seen 'Freak Auth + Vanilla forum', but looking through the notes, I'm not sure I can include my 'rating' features, so I started to think, how difficult could it really be to 'roll-my-own' non-flat-file, but simple forum?

Experienced developers here may be laughing out loud right now at the audacity of my initial question, but would someone kindly summarise what I would need to consider?

[eluser]Xeoncross[/eluser]
Every good project starts with a dream and a desire. Shame on anyone that laughs at that.

The closest I have ever seen is Over at P2L. Other than that you can browser around and find stuff or download some of the simple forums out there to see how they work.

Personally, I plan on making one some time soon as I only need basic posting/editing/admin and something bloated like vB just gets in the way of pure forums like the kind on wordpress.org (bbpress.org).

Anyone want to build a micro forum like "beast" (500 lines) for CI? Wink

EDIT:
Also, I recommend that you use Redux Auth lib if you build your own forum as it is the best/cleanest/fastest user system I have seen to date - and would save you 30% of total time if you built your own forum.

[eluser]usmc[/eluser]