Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Question about the url handling.

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
In which file does CI do it's url handling. I'm new to this and I don't understand how there is no 404 error when calling like index.php/comments/1 from the video tutorial (comments being a method in the index class [which extends Controller]). This file doesn't exist, so I suppose somewhere in CI there is something that creates a new Index object and calls the comments method.

Can you post the sequence of actions for this? For example, something like:
After submitting an URL, class X recieves the request and creates the appropriate controller object. Then, method Y of the controller class is created, etc etc.

Thank you very much!

[eluser]crumpet[/eluser]
i haven't looked at the code in too much detail but i believe that index.php just reroutes

So you call index.php/comments/1
it explodes that and gets each parameter
the first parameter it uses to figure out which controller to call - comments
it looks in the controllers directory for a file called comments.php
if it finds it then it sends it over there and attaches the parameter 1
usually this would be the name of the function to call in the controller however here i think theres an index function which looks like this:
Code:
function index($commentID){
  //find the comment and display it
}
so what happens is it defaults to the index function and the "1" becomes the parameter for it instead
so index takes 1 as the commentID and then displays that ID. If there wasn't an index function then the controller would look for the "1" function and run that.

basically
index.php/model/controller/param1/param2/etc...

also you can use the routes.php file in the config folder to make your own logic
so you can make index.php/X go anywhere you want

[eluser]Pascal Kriete[/eluser]