Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
help needed if you please!!

[eluser]eddie21leeds[/eluser]
hello to all... i am edward from leeds. im pretty new to web applications and when i saw the framework and tutorials on the site i thought i'd give it a go. i got through both tutorials no problem and got the blog working on my local machine but when i came to upload it to my hosting it would not let me acess the scaffolding feature (as a user from the frnt end). i have tried uploading it all in a zip and the unzipping and i have tried FTPing it all with dreamweaver, i have done both with all permissions on and still i get the message in my browser - Directory access is forbidden. does anybody know what i am doing wrong? thankyou in advance.
eddie!

[eluser]Randy Casburn[/eluser]
Hello Edward - Welcome to CI. Your problem is likely a simple configuration problem. But the practice you'll get from taking the following steps may be more helpful in the long run.

Why don't you try this. follow the instructions for creating the blog from the beginning on your server. Install CI there, configure it according to the videos. Create the files and put them on the server. Set the entire thing on the server from the get go and get it to work there. We'll help you get it going. Let's see if that works for you.

When it's all said and done, you should document the differences between your server environment and your local environment so you know what prevented this from "just working". That way you'll know what to look for in the future.

I hope this helps you.

Randy

ok... that's great thanks, i'll do it. ive just been on to my hosting company and checked that short tags is on so all is set! i'll be having a go at it tonight. thanks for the response.

ok... got hello world running on my hosting... im going to go through it one step at a time.
thanks again for the advice..

Great News. If you run into something that doesn't make sense...shout...really loud!

Randy