Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Is Flexi Auth Secure and Reliable?
Star 

Hello,

I have been searching for a user management script for the last month, i bought 6 scripts from ...some... php market, but all where huge failures,
some used MD5 with no salt, some used mysql_query with no escape at all, the things i have seen in these scripts were scarier than horror movies, and they all claimed to be Fully Secured and Professional

I also tested many CI systems, they were good but some had BruteForce vulnerablity, some had other issues..

Best one i found yet is Flexi Auth, it has most of the requirements,

But i am not a Security Expert,

If there are any CI/Security Experts here, have you checked this library?

1. Is it fully secure against "SQL Injection", XSS, CSRF , Session/Cookie Attacks , BruteForce etc?
2. Is it reliable for large projects with a lot of users? (will it become too slow, i mean the logic programmer used on database/retreiving data) etc

Hello Again,

If any security expert see this, please just give me a brief overview of FlexiAuth
because old CI forum is down and i can't find any other sources

Hi noobie.

I ran into a similar issue not so long ago with looking for an auth system. I ran into flexi auth and really liked it too but it seems the original author is no longer active. I've decided to maintain a fork so that the framework can become more mature over time here: flexi-auth/jeteon.

From the work so far I can tell you this much:
  • As far as I know it makes use of the CI database abstraction quite extensively, so it should have any SQL injection protection provided by that
  • Session and cookies are managed using the CI system which can encrypt the cookies and also creates a copy of the cookie in the database in order to prevent manipulation of the cookie you send (but you have to activate this in the CI config)