Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
[solved] redirect() destroys session

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi!

I'm quite new to the Code Igniter framework and have recently begun working on a medium scale social application that uses CI.

I have a problem with redirects and session. On every controller that needs the user to be authenticated I use this code:

Code:
$authenticated = $this->session->userdata("loggedIn");
if($authenticated){
    //DO SOME EXITING STUFF
}

All works well and I can browse the site and see only data that is related to my account. But problems arise when I have to a redirect. I have a page that lets the user to create new groups. In the controller, after the input has been validated I push the new row to database and then redirect to the same page, like this:

Code:
redirect("groups/index", "refresh");

And in the index-function in the groups-controller I have this:

Code:
$authenticated = $this->session->userdata("loggedIn");
if($authenticated){
    //SHOW THE GROUPS THE USER BELONGS AND/OR IS OWNER OF
}else{
    redirect("aarre/index", "refresh");//The front page
}

This throws me back to the front page and seems to destroy the session since I have to log back in.

We use database for storing the sessions.

Any help is greatly appreciated...

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
After examining the cookies sent from our server I think I have found the answer.

There were identically named cookies from two domains: domain.com and www.domain.com. config.php had domain.com configured. And in our view-templates we had mixed www.domain. and domain.com. So yeah, it's no surprise that CI couldn't find authenticated user from the session.

Anyway, thanks for a useful framework. There's still lot for me to learn(one error at a time).

[eluser]phantom-a[/eluser]
[quote author="hukka" date="1221433732"]After examining the cookies sent from our server I think I have found the answer.