Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Making calls to functions within a single controller

[eluser]Wittner[/eluser]
Just wondering what the framework 'rule' is on the following:

I have been using Codeigniter now for a couple of months and it has changed the way I produce my code beyond recognition. I'm a procedural programmer so there has been quite a bit to learn about the CI way of working. I'm now a convert and really enjoying coding with it.

I'm wondering if it is advisable to call a function in a controller from a function within the same controller? For example, I have a rather complex property booking system which I've written. In a controller, when an edit function is called, it consists of the following type of scenario(pseudo code):

Code:
data['blah'] = this->blah_model->get_charges
data['blah'] = this->blah_model->get_payments
data['blah'] = this->blah_model->get_booking($bookingCode)
load->view('edit_view')

My question is - every time I want to call the edit function from a controller, I have to use a few lines to gather all the associated data and then call the edit view - can I make those lines part of a seperate 'edit' function within a controller and call it from that controller or indeed any other controller, thus:

(in a controller)

Code:
function whatever()
{
$bookingCode = $this->input->post('bookingCode')
... Do some stuff
edit_booking($bookingCode)
}

function edit_booking($bookingCode)
{
load->view('edit_view')
}

Hope that's clear and that someone can help. Codeigniter has reduced my bloated code so much maybe I'm just getting greedy!

;-)

cheers,

Wittner

[eluser]Bramme[/eluser]
Yes you can, however, you're syntax is a little bit wrong (really, just a tiny bit) and there's a CI way of doing this (the edit function) better.

your code should change into
Code:
function whatever()
{
$bookingCode = $this->input->post('bookingCode')
... Do some stuff
$this->_edit_booking($bookingCode)
}

function _edit_booking($bookingCode)